Rvs-Cde  Council of State
 

The Buildings: history


The Council of State occupies six buildings between the rue de la Science, the rue Jacques de Lalaing and the rue d'Arlon in the Quartier Léopold, nowadays an area of offices (European institutions, ministries, ...) but home to the aristocracy in the XIXth century.

The official address is : 33 rue de la Science, which is the seat of the Council of State since 1948 and is a former private mansion called "Palais du Marquis d'Assche".  The first owner was indeed one of the sixteen richest Belgians of the XIXth century : Théodore-Charles-Antoine, Count Vandernoot and Marquis of Assche. It was designed and built between 1858 and 1860 by the famous architect A. Balat, who was also the architect of the reconstruction of the Royal Palace of Brussels and who built the Laeken Greenhouses. At the time, this mansion was the largest building in the area, it's front strikingly similar to the Farnese Palace (Palace of Pope Paul III) in Rome.

Between 1901 and 1909, the Palais d'Assche was home to members of the royal family, Prince Albert and Princess Elisabeth, the future sovereigns. King Léopold III and  Prince Regent Charles were born here.  A marble plaque in the great hall commemorates these events.  In the 1930's, the Palace was also the residency of ambassadors of the United States.

The stately staircase and the first floor have kept their original neo-Louis XIV style decoration.

Particularly remarkable are :

  • the First President's chambers : it was at first one of the sitting rooms of the Palace;  the ceiling is decorated with paintings by Charles Chaplin (1862), who was at the time a well-known French painter working for the French aristocracy of the Second empire (Napoléon III), the style is XVIIIth century (cherubs); stately crystal chandelier;
  • the former ball room of the Palace : for a long time it was the General Assembly room of the Council of State; crystal chandelier, loggia for an chamber orchestra (balustrade); two modern tapestries form the P. De Wit firm in Malines showing the Provinces of Wallonia and Flanders, their history and legends;
  • the old library : initially Prince Albert's library, flemish neogothic style (fireplace).

The Palais d'Assche is listed as a historic building.

Since 1995, the Council of State occupies also the "Hôtel Lowenstein", 35 rue de la Science.
It is a private mansion built in 1919-1920 for the financier A. Lowenstein by the French architect Sigwalt in the "Beaux-Arts" style which was popular in Paris at the beginning of the XXth century (for example the Hôtel Lutetia at the Boulevard Raspail).  For many years it was the seat of the Embassy of the Netherlands.  Nowadays, the public hearings of the administrative litigation section are held in several stately rooms, the dining room and the stately reception room (wooden neo-XVIIIth century pannelling).

A. Lowenstein was a great financier of the beginning of the XXth century, who had interests in the synthetic textile industry (Fabelta at Tubize) but who was also involved in a bid to acquire the majority of the shares of the "Banque de Bruxelles".  He did not succeed in his attempt.  He loved horses and built the stables in the building's courtyard.

He "disappeared" suddenly and in mysterious circumstances in July 1928 while coming back from a financial conference in London on his private plane, a Fokker FVII.

Apart from the two historical buildings, the Council of State also occupies modern buildings.

At the back of the building at 94-102 rue d'Arlon, is the new assembly hall for ceremonial sessions of the General Assembly of both sections of the Council of State ( magistrates and assessors being sworn in and installed in office), for public sessions (presentation of magistrates, assessors and registrars to vacant posts) and ordinary sessions (setting up and hearing reports of commissions : for example, the commission on procedures and the commission on the annual report: personnel matters).
 
© Council of State, 2017 contact - FAQ - disclaimer - sitemap Powered by Doran Colibri.cms

Rvs-Cde  Conseil d'État
 

Histoire des bâtiments


Le Conseil d'État est installé dans six bâtiments situés entre la rue de la Science, la rue Jacques De Lalaing et la rue d'Arlon au quartier Léopold, actuellement un quartier de bureaux (Institutions européennes, ministères, ...) mais résidence de l'aristocratie au XIXe siècle.

Son adresse officielle est le 33, rue de la Science à 1040 Bruxelles. Cet ancien hôtel particulier, appelé "Palais du Marquis d'Assche", est le siège du Conseil d'État depuis 1948. Le premier propriétaire fut en effet un des seize belges les plus riches du XIXe siècle : Théodore-Charles-Antoine, Comte Vandernoot et Marquis d'Assche. Conçu et construit entre 1858 et 1860, par l'architecte de renom A. Balat, qui fut aussi architecte de la reconstruction du Palais Royal de Bruxelles ainsi que des Serres de Laeken. Ce palais était le plus grand bâtiment du quartier, avec sa façade dont la ressemblance avec celle du Palais Farnèse (Palais du Pape Paul III) à Rome est frappante.

Entre 1901 et 1909, le Palais d'Assche fut la résidence de membres de la Famille royale, le Prince Albert et la Princesse Elisabeth, futurs souverains. Y sont nés le futur Roi Léopold III et le Régent Charles. Une plaque commémorative installée dans le hall d'honneur rappelle ces événements. Au cours des années 1930, le Palais fut aussi la résidence d'ambassadeurs des États-Unis.

L'escalier d'honneur ainsi que le premier étage ont conservé leur décoration d'origine, dans un style néo-Louis XIV.

Sont particulièrement remarquables :
  • le cabinet du Premier Président, qui fut à l'origine un des salons du Palais, avec au plafond des peintures de Charles Chaplin (1862), à l'époque un peintre français très connu qui travailla pour l'aristocratie française du Second empire (Napoléon III), dans le style du XVIIIe siècle (angelots), ainsi qu'un gigantesque lustre en cristal;
  •  l'ancienne salle de bal du Palais, qui fut longtemps salle des Assemblées générales du Conseil d'État, avec encore un lustre en cristal, un emplacement pour un orchestre de chambre (balustrade) et deux tapisseries modernes en provenance de la firme P. De Wit à Malines, ayant pour thèmes les Provinces wallonnes et les Provinces flamandes, leur histoire et légendes;
  •  l'ancienne bibliothèque, à l'origine bibliothèque du Prince Albert, en style néo-renaissance flamande (cheminée).
Le Palais d'Assche est classé comme monument historique.

Le Conseil d'État est aussi installé, depuis 1995, dans le bâtiment du 35, rue de la Science, l'"Hôtel Lowenstein". Il s'agit d'un hôtel particulier construit en 1919-1920 pour le financier A. Lowenstein, par l'architecte français Sigwalt, dans le style "Beaux-Arts" en vogue à Paris au début du XXe siècle (par exemple Hôtel Lutetia au Bld Raspail). Le Palais fut longtemps le siège de l'Ambassade des Pays-Bas. Les audiences publiques de la section d'administration ont actuellement lieu dans divers grands salons, la salle à manger et la salle solennelle de l'hôtel (voir ici la décoration en bois néo-XVIIIe siècle).

A. Lowenstein fut un grand financier au début du XXe siècle, avec des intérêts dans l'industrie du textile artificiel (Fabelta à Tubize) mais  fut aussi impliqué dans une tentative d'acquisition de la majorité des actions de la "Banque de Bruxelles", cette fois sans succès. Amateur de chevaux de courses, il fit également construire les écuries dans la cour du bâtiment.

Il "disparut" soudainement et dans des circonstances étranges en juillet 1928, au retour d'une conférence financière à Londres, dans son avion privé - un Fokker FVII.

En dehors des deux bâtiments historiques, le Conseil d'État est aussi installé dans des bâtiments modernes.

Entre autres, à l'arrière du bâtiment 94-102, rue d'Arlon, se trouve depuis 1996 la nouvelle salle des audiences solennelles dans laquelle se tiennent des séances solennelles (par exemple : prestations de serment et installations de magistrats et assesseurs), publiques (par exemple : présentation de magistrats, assesseurs et greffiers aux fonctions vacantes) et ordinaires (par exemple : création et rapports de commissions telles la commission de la procédure et la commission du rapport; questions relatives au personnel) de l'Assemblée générale des deux sections du Conseil d'État.
 
© Conseil d'État, 2018 contact - FAQ - disclaimer - plan du site Powered by Doran Colibri.cms