Rvs-Cde  Council of State
 

Compensatory Damages

Whoever demands the annulment of a decision may claim compensatory damages for the harm he suffered by reason of the illegality. Damages can be claimed in the application for annulment in the course of the procedure or no later than sixty days after the notification of the judgment in which the illegality is declared. The procedural rules differ slightly depending on the time at which the claim is submitted (see in this respect articles 25/1, 25/2 and 25/3 of the general regulation with regard to the procedure). The claim for damages must set out, among other things, the harm in compensation of which damages are claimed.

If possible, the Council of State decides on the damages in the judgment that declares the illegality. If this is not yet possible, the Council decides within twelve months after the notification of that judgment. In doing so the Council takes into account all the circumstances of public and private interest.

After making a claim for damages on the Council of State, one can no longer submit to the ordinary court a civil liability claim with regard to the same harm. Whoever already submitted a civil liability claim to the ordinary court can no longer claim damages from the Council of State.

 
© Council of State, 2017 contact - FAQ - disclaimer - sitemap Powered by Doran Colibri.cms

Rvs-Cde  Conseil d'État
 

Indemnité réparatrice

Quiconque poursuit l'annulation d'un acte administratif peut demander qu’une indemnité lui soit allouée  afin de réparer le préjudice qu’il a subi du fait de l'illégalité. L’indemnité peut être demandée dans la requête en annulation, pendant la durée de la procédure, ou au plus tard dans les soixante jours qui suivent la notification de l’arrêt constatant l'illégalité. Les règles de procédure diffèrent quelque peu en fonction du moment de l’introduction de la demande (voir à ce sujet les articles 25/1, 25/2 et 25/3 du règlement général de procédure). La demande en indemnité doit notamment contenir un exposé qui établit le préjudice pour lequel il est demandé réparation.

Le Conseil d'État peut statuer sur l'indemnité dans l'arrêt constatant l'illégalité. Si ce n’est pas possible, il statue dans les douze mois qui suivent la notification de cet arrêt. Il tient compte à cet égard de l’ensemble des intérêts publics et privés en présence.

Après avoir introduit une demande d'indemnité, le demandeur ne peut plus intenter d’action en responsabilité civile devant le juge judiciaire pour le même préjudice. De même, celui qui a déjà intenté une telle action devant le juge judiciaire ne peut plus demander d’indemnité au Conseil d'État.

 
© Conseil d'État, 2017 contact - FAQ - disclaimer - plan du site Powered by Doran Colibri.cms