Rvs-Cde  Council of State
 

History of the institution


Today Councils of State with similar competences exist, amongst others, in France, in the Netherlands, in Italy, in the Great Duchy of Luxemburg.

The council of state of Belgium, functional since 1948, is based on an original concept and has no direct ties to the past. Nevertheless, it is not the first of its kind in our national history.

The Council of State of Charles the Fifth of Spain

Indeed, the most important of the three side councils which were created in our Provinces by Emperor Charles the Fifth in 1531, was in fact called "Conseil d'État".

It had twelve members who were appointed for life and were chosen from the most prominent personalities of the clergy and the nobility.  This first Council of State was presided by Mary of Hungary, sister to the Emperor and General Governess of the Netherlands.

It was an instrument of government commissioned to deliberate on all major political, administrative or military matters.

Although but a consultative body, this Council of State played a foremost role in Belgian political life and its very existence represented at times a real protection against arbitrary rule.

The institution will survive until the end of the Ancien Régime, but its prerogatives will dwindle under the Habsbourg-Lorraine. By the middle of the XVIIIth century, the role of the "Conseillers d'État" will become purely honorary.

The 1831 Constitution

The principle of a Council of State was left out of the 1831 Belgian Constitution due to the fact that it was reminiscent of an "instrument of power".  This was the case under the ancien régime since Charles the Fifth of Spain, during the French period (the Council of State created by Napoléon Bonaparte in 1799 during the Consulat) and the Dutch period (1815-1830 : the Council of State of the Kingdom of the Netherlands of William the First).  Due to the disappearance of the old Council of State, the mining law of 21 April 1810 could not longer be applied and a special body, called Conseil des mines, had to be created.  This body was suppressed when the present Council of State was founded and its competence was incorporated in the latter's.

The institution of a Council of State in Belgium

Charles Rogier had however vigorously defended the idea of a Legislative Council and by 1833, the Chevalier de Theux, who was the Minister of the Interior at that time, took up the idea while broadening its scope.  
He did no longer only ask for the institution of a Legislative Council, but proposed the creation of a Council of State which, besides being in charge of preparing legislation, would assume a task in the field of administrative litigation.

This ministerial draft was rejected but a Legislation Council,  predecessor to the Legislation section, was created in 1911 by Minister Carton de Wiart.  After the 1914-1918 War, the question of the creation of a high administrative jurisdiction was brought up again by lawyers and members of Parliament as a result of the "Flandria" decision of the Court of Cassation, acknowledging for the first time the responsibility of the administration.

These initiatives were followed by a bill drafted by Carton de Wiart in 1934 and a draft by the Minister of the Interior De Schryver in 1937 as a result of the government's policy statement of 1936 set out by the Van Zeeland Government.

Discussion of the bill in Parliament was interrupted by World War II but was resumed  as early as 1945 on the initiative of the Minister of the Interior Van Glabbeke.  The result was the Act of 23 December 1946 published in the official gazette of 9 January 1947.

Further reading:


 
© Council of State, 2017 contact - FAQ - disclaimer - sitemap Powered by Doran Colibri.cms

Rvs-Cde  Conseil d'État
 

Histoire de l'institution


Des Conseils d'État existent actuellement, avec des attributions plus ou moins similaires, entre autres en France, aux Pays-Bas, en Italie, au Grand-Duché de Luxembourg.

Original par les conceptions qui ont présidé à sa création et sans attache directe avec le passé, le Conseil d'État de Belgique, qui est en fonction depuis 1948, n'est pourtant pas le premier du nom dans notre histoire nationale.

Le Conseil d'État de Charles Quint

On se souviendra, en effet, que le principal des trois Conseils collatéraux instaurés dans nos Provinces par l'Empereur Charles Quint, en l'an 1531, s'appelait précisément "Conseil d'État".

Composé de douze membres, nommés à vie, choisis parmi les personnalités les plus illustres du clergé et de la noblesse, le Conseil d'État de l'époque eut pour première Présidente Marie de Hongrie, soeur de l'Empereur et Gouvernante Générale des Pays-Bas.

C'était un organe de gouvernement, dont la mission consistait à délibérer sur toutes les affaires majeures d'ordre politique, administratif ou militaire.

Bien que ses membres n'eussent que voix consultative, ce Conseil d'État occupa longtemps une place prépondérante dans la vie politique belge et son existence même constitua, à certains moments, une réelle sauvegarde contre l'arbitraire du pouvoir souverain.

L'institution subsistera, en fait, jusqu'à la fin de l'Ancien Régime, mais ses prérogatives iront en s'amenuisant sous les Habsbourg-Lorraine et, vers le milieu du XVIIIe siècle, les "Conseillers d'État" n'auront déjà plus qu'un rôle purement honorifique.

La Constitution de 1831

Le principe d'un Conseil d'État fut écarté de la Constitution belge de 1831, en raison du souvenir que cette dénomination évoquait d'un "organe de pouvoir". C'était le cas sous l'ancien régime depuis Charles Quint ainsi que durant la période française (le Conseil d'État créé par Napoléon Bonaparte en 1799 sous le Consulat) et la période hollandaise (1815-1830: le Conseil d'État du Royaume des Pays-Bas de Guillaume Ier). Par suite de la disparition de l'ancien Conseil d'État, la loi minière du 21 avril 1810 était devenue inapplicable et l'on dut pourvoir à la création d'un organisme spécial, appelé Conseil des mines, organisme qui fut supprimé à l'instauration de l'actuel Conseil d'État, dont les attributions englobèrent les siennes.

L’instauration d’un Conseil d'État en Belgique

Cependant, Charles Rogier avait défendu avec vigueur l'idée d'un Conseil de législation et, dès 1833, le Chevalier de Theux, à l'époque Ministre de l'Intérieur, reprit ce projet en l'élargissant. Ce n'est plus la création d'un Conseil de législation qu'il demandait, mais celle d'un Conseil d'État qui aurait assumé, à côté de la responsabilité de travaux de préparation législative, une mission de contentieux administratif.

Cette proposition ministérielle fut rejetée, mais un Conseil de législation, prédécesseur de la section de législation, fut créé en 1911 par le Ministre Carton de Wiart. Après la guerre 1914-1918, la question de la création d’une haute juridiction administrative fut remise sur le tapis  tant par des juristes que par des parlementaires, suite à l’arrêt “Flandria” de la Cour de cassation en 1920, qui pour la première fois reconnaissait la notion de responsabilité de l’administration.

Ces initiatives donnèrent lieu  à une proposition de loi Carton de Wiart en 1934 et à un projet de loi du Ministre de l’Intérieur De Schryver en 1937, suite à la déclaration gouvernementale de 1936 du gouvernement Van Zeeland.

L’examen du projet au Parlement fut interrompu par la deuxième guerre mondiale mais reprit dès 1945 à l’initiative du Ministre de l’Intérieur Van Glabbeke et aboutit positivement à la loi du 23 décembre 1946, publiée au Moniteur belge du 9 janvier 1947.

Aperçu des initiatives législatives

Lisez également:





 
© Conseil d'État, 2017 contact - FAQ - disclaimer - plan du site Powered by Doran Colibri.cms